June 14 Scholarship Awards

Following our June 14 General Meeting, members got to meet two of the four winners of our Magnolia Point Women’s Club Scholarship Award given in memory of Gisela Ferrell.

Joanne LaBeouf provided a brief history of the Scholarship Committee that highlighted the 2003  beginning of the committee. The history also served as a reminder that scholarship funding is done through proceeds from the sale of Luminaria and Directory Ads.  Cassandre Francois and her mother and Savannah Green and her grandmother were present.  Each winner provided a brief overview of their accomplishments and future plans.  Joanne shared the biographies of Janiyah Stevens and Lydia Lovelady, the two other winners who were unable to attend for personal reasons. Each of the girls present received a yellow rose. 

In keeping with highlighting the scholarship history, Joanne recognized Susan Mitchell who was the first Scholarship Committee Chair in 2003.  Joanne introduced and thanked her committee for their hard work assessing all of the qualified Clay High senior girl applications:  Marsha Fields, Pam Calloway, Susan Sprott, Janine O’Connor, Barb Phelps, Marguerite Martin, and Cheryle Newman.  Joanne will be soon be stepping down as Scholarship Director after more than 4 years in that position. Marsha Fields, who has been a committee member for three years,  has agreed to take over as Scholarship Chair in September.   Look for more detailed information on the scholarship winners that will appear in Clay Today and The Magnolia News.